Spirituality

Our Weird, Messy Spiritual Lives

I write about my spiritual life as honestly and openly as I can because I know how lonely the journey can be. I know what it’s like to search for spiritual community and not only fail to fit in, but be told in so many words that there’s something fundamentally wrong with you.

For a while, I tried to act like I fit in. Then I stopped – stopped caring who I impressed or who thought I was a “good Christian” (whatever the hell that is). Two things happened. First, I found out how very much I did not belong in my original faith community. This phase lasted a few years and was shitty.

Then, when I started writing, I found people exactly like me. Maybe they didn’t believe the same things or adhere to the same spiritual practices, but they were hungry for Spirit and for love-driven community just like I was.

Most of them thought they were alone because something was just wrong with them. They doubted or took practices from more than one religion. They refused to take part in the othering that glued the rest of the group together. They loved the wrong people, wore the wrong clothes, didn’t fit into the gender binary. They cared about the “wrong” issues. They asked too many questions. They swore.

And somewhere in their life somebody told them they were divorced from their spirituality because of it.

Well, I call bullshit on that. We are spiritual people from the day we are born until the day we die. Nothing can sever us from that part of ourselves.

I write here about my weird, messy spiritual life because we all have weird, messy bits in our story. I’m ok with looking stupid. I’m not here to impress you. I’m just here to tell you two things:

There is nothing wrong with you, and you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

