Personal Growth · Success Is

Success is: Constantly Learning

I would like to be interested in my own life.

(This makes sense, right? I have to live in it.)

Being open, being curious – this keeps me interested. One of the best things about being out of school is the time to study whatever I feel like. I can pursue literally anything I want to know in ways that make sense to me.

What does this look like? It looks like I don’t know what the hell I’m doing. And I’m ok with that (most days).

Here are a few ways I go about this learning process:

1. I don’t worry about being wrong.

Hey guys – more often than not, I’m going to be wrong. Being one tiny organism, in one tiny pocket of time, I pretty much have no chance of really understanding my world.

But instead of using that knowledge as an excuse to stop trying, I just use it to keep me humble as I run around gathering information, asking, “What if…”

2. I follow my curiosity.

Even if what I’m curious about seems really dumb to others – and often it does. Putting up intellectual walls has the same effect as putting up emotional walls. It puts limits on your growth.

3. I gather information in ways that make sense to me.

Talking to people, traveling, reading, watching documentaries, listening to podcasts, good old fashioned observation – these are all ways I get information. Other people gather intel in other ways, like experiments or building things, and that’s fascinating and cool.

4. I synthesize information in ways that make sense to me.

Usually, this means writing and talking about it, which is how a lot of people know about my dumb ideas before I drop them. I don’t really understand something well until I can reorder it, integrate it, and then spit it out in my own words. Like Einstein said, “If you can’t explain it to a six year old, you don’t understand it yourself.”

 

So what are you learning lately? What’s feeding your mind? Do you have any interesting links to share?

 

Read the rest of the Success Is series here:

Success is…

Knowing My Priorities

Directing How My Time is Spent

Making My Creative Life a Priority

Investing in My Spouse

A Balanced, Fulfilling Work Life

Knowing Myself

Constantly Learning

Managing Money Well

Good Family Relationships

Pursuing Spiritual Meaning

Practicing Gratitude

Nurturing Dreams for the Future

12 thoughts on “Success is: Constantly Learning

Leave a Reply

