Success Is

Success is: Making My Creative Life a Priority

I just thought I’d let you know, in case you forgot: you were not born just to consume. You are a creative person, with something to offer the world.

I am 100% certain of this. If you are human, you are creative.

I used to think creativity was the privilege of a few, lucky people. But when I started to make deliberate time for my creative life, something that had been rattling around in me for years just… settled. Clicked into place.

Maybe you also have something rattling around in you. Here are a few ideas about creativity that helped me:

1. What you are meant to create may not look like what anyone else is doing.

Some people make paintings, some build computers. Some people build community, some families, some safe home environments. Some people grow a business. Some people garden, or sing, or make furniture, or write books, or renovate old houses, or train dogs, or make clothes, or build Magic decks, or knit.

Human creativity, the ability to make something, expands vastly beyond our concept of “art”. And you have something unique to offer because of who you are, and how your experiences have shaped you.

2. Creativity lives beyond the fear of how people will receive what you make.

Of course I love it when people read a blog post and tell me, “Me too! I have those feelings too!” That connection enriches my life, and it encourages me to think I’m going in the right direction.

But it doesn’t have any bearing on whether or not I’m going to sit at the computer that day and write. Because ultimately that is my job – to make something. To write. Not to worry about how people will receive it.

When I first felt like God was telling me I should be writing, I had a lot of excuses. “I don’t have enough ideas. I’ll run out of things to write about. I’m not good enough for people to take the time to read my stuff.”

Then one day when I was on the way to work at Starbucks He finally said, bluntly, How is it any of your business who reads it if I ask you to write it? Did I ask you to pitch me ideas for the next year?

I so rarely feel like He’s irritated with me that it shut me up immediately. I got to work. Speaking of which…

3. Creativity takes work.

Sometimes we believe if we try to make something and it’s hard, it just means we’re not good at it. Not true – creativity takes work. It should be fulfilling and satisfying and bring you joy.

It should also be hard.

But you wouldn’t have the desires and aptitudes you have if you weren’t capable of bringing them to fruition. Part of a successful life, to me, is settling down and doing the work that honors those desires and aptitudes.

Until you do that, you’ll never know what you’re capable of. And I’m willing to wager it’s quite a lot.

 

Read the rest of the Success Is series here:

Success is…

Knowing My Priorities

Directing How My Time is Spent

Making My Creative Life a Priority

Investing in My Spouse

A Balanced, Fulfilling Work Life

Knowing Myself

Constantly Learning

Managing Money Well

Good Family Relationships

Pursuing Spiritual Meaning

Practicing Gratitude

Nurturing Dreams for the Future

18 thoughts on “Success is: Making My Creative Life a Priority

    1. Trish, do you remember that time at work I told you I liked your beanie?
      You told me that you made it and I responded with something along the lines of, “ahhhh Trish you’re so creative!”
      That’s the first thing I thought when I read the title.

Leave a Reply

