Uncategorized

The Fear of the Woman God

I don’t agree with most conservative ideas and ideologies – obviously. But I can almost always see the logic behind them, with one exception: for some time, I couldn’t for the life of me understand why conservative lawmakers were (are) so intent on controlling women’s reproductive lives.

I heard they are looking out for the children. But this doesn’t make sense to me, as they consistently oppose legislation that would improve early development and give kids a better chance in life – maternity/paternity leave, living wages for the parents so they don’t have to work two or three jobs, better schools, affordable childcare, more nutritious and local food in the schools, and so on.

I also heard God says all life is precious, and therefore we have to protect every life, even in the womb. But this doesn’t make sense to me either as conservatives vehemently oppose legislation to curb the rampant gun violence in this country. It doesn’t follow logic, in light of a pro-life ideology, to prosecute a suspicious miscarriage but talk about the hundreds of mass shootings this year as if they were unavoidable tragedies.

So I’ve come up with the only explanation that helps me understand this behavior. (Be warned – it’s pretty harebrained and a little woo-woo. If you have any better ideas, please let me know.)

I think, in their gut, a lot of people are terrified of the feminine side of God – the God that birthed a universe into being and slaughtered nations to protect her children. This God is wild and unpredictable. She speaks in the language of dreams and prophecy, subverses the laws of physics and society alike. In fact, she doesn’t seem to give a shit about human constructs of power.

I imagine if you were trying to hold onto worldly power, like these mostly white, mostly male lawmakers, female God wouldn’t exactly be your friend. And the most miraculous, most wild, most pure physical representation of this side of God must be the ability to grow and birth a human being.

So I think when conservatives try to control access to reproductive care for women they’re really trying to control this wild God, whom they know, in their gut, moves in unexpected places and gives power to unexpected people, like low-income women.

2 thoughts on “The Fear of the Woman God

  1. As someone that doesn’t identify with either political camp, this is very interesting to me. I find it hard to believe that either side is really interested in protecting lives. I would add that conservatives typically favor the death penalty which directly contradicts the same arguments they use against abortion. Liberals on the other hand claim to be all about minority rights, yet abortion disproportionately targets minority babies (http://goo.gl/dW0HHc). I think you’re right that there is a much bigger problem here.

Leave a Reply

